How to spruce up a free blog

Hi Alice

I’d welcome any feedback you could offer on my shop blog: http://kittyandpolly.wordpress.com/

Thanks, Paula

–oo00oo–

Hi Paula

What a fantastic blog! I love the pictures and the posts are really readable, well done!

I particularly like the links to specific pages on your website and that you’ve created some extra pages. You could have put your pages widget a bit higher on the side bar, but as you have links across the top this probably doesn’t matter.

What else can you do? I don’t want to spoil the overall effect, but you could move the comments widget below the recent posts widget – don’t hide your feedback, encourage it!

You could promote your newsletter on your side bar. As this is a free WordPress blog you aren’t allowed sign-up forms, but you could get around this by using a text widget with an image of your newsletter linked to a specific webpage with the newsletter sign-up form on it. This has worked for me! Place the text widget high up on the side bar to encourage action.

And why not move your blog icon further up your website to encourage more visitors from that end?

Finally sign up to feedburner.com or feedblitz.com to get your blog’s RSS URL, and place the code for a RSS button and new post subscription link in a text widget. This is to encourage more readers to follow your latest activities. And remember to place the widget at the very top of your side bar where it is really noticeable.

Other than that I think your blog is truly great!

Alice

5 thoughts on “How to spruce up a free blog

  1. Hi Paula and Alice,

    couldn’t resist having a peek at this site. What gorrrrgeous products you have! I’ve recently been doing a bit of ‘wilfing’ (What am I Looking For) around the internet and have stumbled upon a lot of beautifully designed blogs in your genre. Take a look at http://knackstudios.blogspot.com/ (lovely products and photography) and http://decor8blog.com/2009/03/23/knack-studios-shop-tour/ (who do the kitsch homemade thing very well…)

    Like

  2. Hi Fiona and Alice,
    I think those blogs are fab..I could sit and surf through the photgraphs all day. I actually quite enjoy blogging myself, although it takes quite a sustained effort !
    Regards,
    Paula

    Like

  3. I have been a onlooker here for sometime now. I didnt want to post until I was able to give back just as I have recieved from here. During the hard time
    of the economy today I felt obligated to share with you how I have made it the past 6 months. Now I know this really has nothing to do with this site but as we all know
    we each need tomake money and survive ourselves. Furthermore I wanted to share a site with you that can easily help you as it has helped me. In the past 6 months
    I have been learning Internet Marketing techniques from using Blackhat and WhiteHat stratigies.

    With these techniques I have been able to quit my job and focus just my time to internet marketing and now am making arounf $400 a day. My goal in the next 2 months is to beable to make $1k a day.
    If it wasnt for this site http://www.InternetMarketersforum.com None of this would have happened. If your down and out and needing to make some online I suggest you check out this site.
    If you join the site then you will ba able to see many more private methods to making anything from $100 a day all the way up to $1000’s daily. It just takes a little work on your part but in the end these methods truly work

    Like

Leave a Reply

